Skip to content

I’m excited!

February 1, 2011

Once again, I have not been around for weeks months. I would apologize, but had I just didn’t have anything to share with heart. Until now. And I am very excited! One of the classes that I most consistently attend each week will now be taught by a different instructor. So I am very excited. It may seem like such a small thing, but I just recently realized how although my physical yogic abilities have been increasing, I have not been having any of my spiritual needs met. Until this realization, I hadn’t really known how important the spiritual aspect of my practice was. I mean, not really.

Of course, I enjoyed the spiritual aspects of my practice and I knew that I enjoyed. But I guess I never truly grasped exactly what that role was. Until I found it missing. At that point, I think my practice changed. I still enjoyed my classes and my practice in general. But I no longer found myself contemplating things that we had discussed in class days or even weeks after the class had ended. I did still think about yoga spiritually, but I found that I recalled discussions from yoga classes of long long ago. Years ago. Now there’s nothing wrong with that and I’m sure that those instructors would love to know that I still think of the lessons they weaved into their classes. But I really find that I enjoy my practice so much more when I get consistent reminders.

So, our new instructor is amazing and after her subbing for our (former) instructor a few weeks ago, I felt inexplicably drawn to her. I found myself checking the schedule, seeing if I could attend her one class each week. But now it seems like she has been brought to me! What a great motivation to get to class! She taught today’s class and I felt really distracted, but I think that’s just because I was so excited at the possibilities ahead! Her official start date is next week, which coincides with my attendance in a 4 week workshop at my studio that is sure to stir up some spiritual gunk.

I don’t know how long it has been since I have actually been looking forward to next week so much. Probably not since college and at that point, I was most likely more looking forward to the end of the current week and not the beginning of the following. But it feels great. Not that I’m not enjoying the present because I am. But it sure is fun to be so excited again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

