Skip to content

Acceptance

July 2, 2010

Although this blog is still in its infancy stage, I’ve already written about letting go and here I am, already contemplating it again. At the risk of being redundant, I am going to once again dive into it. This is after all, my blog. It is amazing to me how I am constantly being reminded to let go. To surrender. And there are times when I think that I’m doing pretty well at it. Usually the thing or idea I have let go of is pretty small. I can’t even think of an example right now, but I CAN do it. Sometimes. Then there are other times when I feel like I’ve never improved at all. I know that yoga is a journey and not something that will just happen one day. But I still tend to get frustrated when I don’t see the results I expect. Apparently, I need to let go of the result-seeking part of myself. However, it is so much easier said than done. I think that at some level, we are all hard-wired or culturally trained (or both) to focus on the results. You work (effort) so that you can buy a home (result) and go on vacations (result) and have a nice car (result) and on and on and on, right? I mean, what’s the point of doing something if you don’t notice a change (result)? That mindset is quite prevalent in our culture today so it should not be surprising that I have a hard time NOT focusing on results.
My focus on results (or in this case, not getting the results I want) lead me to the all-mighty, has never let me down, search engine google for some advice on how to feel less fatigued. And yes, my trusty search engine returned to me millions of websites giving instruction on what vitamins to take, exercises to do, relaxation techniques, foods to eat, water to drink, on and on just as I had expected (result!). As I was pouring over the information, I came across this article about how to fight fatigue. I’m reading along and I see: get enough rest, drink plenty of water, eat the right foods, try yoga and all of the other tips offered in a million other places. But the last entry was to simply let go. Amazing. Just know that you won’t always feel like running a marathon (funny, I’ve never felt that urge!). The advice was simply to acknowledge that you may sometimes in fact be tired. It’s normal. No reason to change. Even though this one bit of advice is so simple, it was profound for me. It was just another example of the universe telling me that I’m perfect just the way I am. No need to change. No need to rush out to the nearest vitamin store and buy out their stock of 15 different herbs and vitamins to try to combat my afternoon slump. Of course, I don’t mean to say that I won’t take any of the advice offered by the all knowing internet. I will in fact drink a lot of water and focus on eating healthier foods and such. But it was a nudge on the shoulder telling me to stop focusing so much on results. It may well be a fact that some days I am tired. So what? There is absolutely nothing wrong with feeling a bit tired sometimes*. I am perfect just the way I am and I don’t need to try to change anything. That is, I don’t need to worry about the result so much. Just let it go. Surrender.

*To my readers: if you are feeling fatigued constantly, there could also be a medical reason for it. It is not in fact totally normal to feel very fatigued if you are getting an adequate amount of sleep. Please consult your doctor if you feel that you are experiencing an unreasonable amount of fatigue. If you are not sure, please read this article from the Mayo Clinic that details when you should see a doctor about fatigue.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

