Skip to content

Try Something Different. Surrender.

May 20, 2010
tags:

Try Something Different. Surrender.

The first time I read these words was weeks ago.  They are on the front of a card in my yoga studio’s overpriced fashionable boutique.  When I read them, I didn’t really give the statement very much thought.  But as the days and weeks have gone by, I keep coming back to this idea of surrendering.  Not simply letting go of an idea I hold or a relationship I have with something, but surrendering to what is.  Being unhappy with the way things are doesn’t change the way that things are.  The only thing it changes is your relationship to it.  So getting pissed off because I’m not happy with the present moment doesn’t change the fact that the moment is what it is.  If I just surrender to the moment, I just might find that it’s not so terrible after all.  What a great idea.

As an idea, I love it. I really truly do.  But in practice, it’s much more difficult than that.  I am on the brink of a huge life decision at the moment and though I can clearly see which path to take, I am seemingly unable to surrender to it.  I am still holding on to a different idea of how my life is supposed to go.   And even though the universe is tapping me on the shoulder and whispering in my ear, I continue to want to resist what I am being told. I cannot surrender to this reality even when it is staring my straight in the face.

So I keep returning to these words: try something different. Surrender.

Isn’t surrendering supposed to be easy?

“Listening to something is an act of surrender”

~Brian Eno

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 10:04 PM

    How true. Crosses and burdens are what they are. I, too, need to learn to surrender more gracefully to what is.

  2. May 21, 2010 9:42 AM

    Supposed to be. But it isn’t. It galls one to have to surrender, I think. But it does pretty much bring instant peace, doesn’t it?

  3. May 24, 2010 6:23 PM

    I think it is the strong-willed ones that find surrender the most difficult. I know from experience. 😉

Leave a Reply

